Quinoa-Veggie Sushi Rolls

Quinoa Veggie Sushi

I’ve made this twice now and the first time was somewhat of a disaster, taking me far too long to make on my own and it didn’t make nearly enough to feed the whole family.  I made them too tiny and they just weren’t perfect, like I wanted them to be.  This time, I added more veggies, more quinoa and had the girls layer the rolls while I rolled and cut them.  Wholesome Cook has several variations on these rolls but I wanted something simple without meat.  The recipe below made a LOT of rolls.  There was enough to fill up the five of us at dinner, plus a lunch for each of the girls and myself the next day.  I had to search for a tutorial on how to roll sushi because I’d never done it before so if you’re a sushi-rolling virgin, I suggest you do the same.  I’d also recommend buying more than one sushi mat and encourage someone to help you layer and roll the rolls because it’ll go much faster!

For the Quinoa Sushi Rolls:

  • 2 cups quinoa
  • 4 cups vegetable stock
  • 1 package nori (sushi roll seaweed)
  • 2 cucumbers, sliced thin
  • 1 cup carrot shreds
  • 1 red pepper, diced small
  • 2 avocados, diced into small pieces
  • 1 cup almonds, chopped roughly
  • 3 Tablespoons chia seeds

To Cook Quinoa

  1. Place quinoa into a sieve and rinse well under cold water.
  2. Transfer quinoa into a saucepan, add vegetable stock and cook over medium heat. Bring to a boil then reduce to a simmer and cook for about 15 minutes, stirring, until tender.
  3. Remove from heat and allow to cool slightly.
  4. Add chopped almonds & chia seeds.
  5. Place a nori sheet on the sushi mat, then spread a couple spoonsful of quinoa mix on half of the nori sheet, working from the edge closest to you and right to the sides.
  6. Layer your favorite toppings across the middle of the quinoa and, using your mat, tightly wrap the rolls all the way to the end.

PinIt

One thought on “Quinoa-Veggie Sushi Rolls

Leave a Reply

