Kale Salad

Kale Salad

With all the dreary rainy days lately I wanted comfort food so I pulled some beef stroganoff together but knew I’d need a hearty vegetable to go along with it.  I found the original recipe for this salad at Epicurious but didn’t notice that I had to soak currents overnight until I was ready to prepare the salad for dinner.  It didn’t help that I couldn’t find currents at the store.  It’s possible that I couldn’t find them because I don’t know what currents are.  I bought dried cherries instead, adapted the recipe and pulled it all together in one bowl 20 minutes before the stroganoff was done.  The recipe below is how I prepared it.  It was so good and kale always surprises me with how mildly flavored it is.  Love it.

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup dried cherries
  • 2 Tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon seasoned rice vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 bunch of kale, center ribs and stems removed, leaves thinly sliced crosswise
  • 1/4 cup raw pine nuts
  • Parmesan cheese shavings

Directions

  1. Whisk balsamic vinegar, rice vinegar, honey, oil, and salt in large bowl.
  2. Add kale, cherries, and pine nuts; toss to coat.
  3. Let marinate 20 minutes at room temperature, tossing occasionally.
  4. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Sprinkle cheese shavings over salad and serve.
Leave a Reply

