Tomato Basil Soup

Tomato Basil Soup

Adapted from All Recipes

This was really, very good and I liked that it was (semi) homemade.  Reduced or no-sodium tomatoes could be used, even organic if you want to be super healthy!  I used a generic canned brand because I’ve recently discovered that if you can’t find a lower sodium canned good, the generic will almost always have significantly less sodium than the name brand.  It’s probably, at least partially, why generic costs less!

Now, having said that reduced or zero sodium tomatoes can be used, I did add quite a bit of salt to my bowl once it was dished up.  Why?  Because the soup was very sweet from the tomatoes.  I didn’t want to leave out the sugar because it cuts down on the acidity!  So with that in mind, my preference is not to add the salt while cooking, and just add it each bowl if desired. 

Also, next time I’ll be tossing the tomatoes around in the food processor before I cook them, because the kids didn’t like the texture very much, but since I”m super mean, I made them eat it anyway!

Ingredients

  • 2 (28 ounce) cans crushed tomatoes
  • 1 (14.5 ounce) can vegetable broth
  • 18 fresh basil leaves, minced (I tossed mine in the food processor)
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 6 Tablespoons butter
Directions
  1. In a large saucepan, bring the tomatoes and broth to a boil. Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 10 minutes. Add basil and sugar. Reduce heat to low; stir in cream and butter. Cook until butter is melted.
Leave a Reply

