White Chicken Chili

White Chicken Chili

This was really good and I love how simple it was!  Looks a little…meh…doesn’t it?  It tastes much better than it looks though!  I’ve recently begun cooking with fresh beans.  Is that how they’re referred to?  Fresh?  Well, the kind in a bag that you soak overnight then cook is what I’ve been using to cut back on unnecessary sodium and it’s extremely simple.  Yes, obviously it takes more time but really worth it when I looked at how often I was using beans in all my recipes! 

I was disappointed to read the label of the chilies after I’d opened them to use in this recipe – 120 mg of sodium in that teeny tiny little can.  Well, maybe next time I’ll grab a few chilies in the produce department!  I did use both cans and the entire 1/4 teaspoon of Cayenne pepper and yes, it was pretty kicky.  My kids ate all of it without any complaint, which makes me VERY happy because I want them to like spicy foods.  I don’t know why.  It just seems like something a kid should be able to eat without being a crybaby about it.

I used abouuuuuut 2 cans worth of beans – I just eyeballed it and you can too!

Source: My Kitchen Cafe

10 chicken tenders
1 medium onion, chopped
1 1/2 teaspoons garlic powder
1 tablespoon oil 
(About 2 cans worth of) Cooked Great Northern beans – OR 2 cans (15 1/2 ounces each) rinsed and drained
14 1/2 oz. can chicken broth
2 cans (4 oz. each) chopped green chilies
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 cup sour cream
1/2 cup whipping cream

In a large saucepan, sauté chicken, onion and garlic powder in oil until chicken is no longer pink. Add beans, broth, chilies and seasonings. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat; simmer, uncovered, for 30 minutes. Remove from the heat; stir in sour cream and cream. Garnish with fresh cilantro, if desired. Serve immediately.

2 thoughts on “White Chicken Chili

Leave a Reply

