Pumpkin & Black Bean Soup

Pumpkin & Black Bean Soup
First of all, I feel compelled to say how much I hate taking these pictures in the winter.  Dinner is never ready before night fall and therefore I’m forced to use my flash which I despise!  But whatever, this one didn’t turn out too awful and the colors are fairly accurate.

Source: Closet Cooking

I pureed this to baby food consistency for a few reasons.  If I can keep the kids from guessing what’s in some recipes they are more inclined to try them and my oldest daughter hates cooked tomatoes.  Since cooked tomatoes are the only food she won’t eat, I like to humor her by sneaking crushed, or pureed, tomatoes in her food.

I wanted to keep this vegetarian and up until the end, I did.  It would make an excellent, filling dinner all on it’s own.  My brain tells me, however, that when we have soup we must also partake in bread.  Since I didn’t have any rolls on hand I decided to use up the rest of the thick sliced ham I’d bought for egg and ham muffins at breakfast time.  I just diced them into squares and tossed them in during the last 10 minutes of cook time.  No more vegetarian.  Oh well!  Despite a relatively basic ingredient list, this soup was full of robust flavor!


Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1 tablespoon ground cumin
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • 14 oz can pumpkin
  • 1 19 oz can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 14 oz can tomatoes
  • 1/4 cup dry white wine
  • 1 handful cilantro, chopped (optional, but I ran out the day before and was too lazy to hit the store for one thing)
  • 1 handful toasted pumpkin seeds (optional, but I didn’t do this, since I figured my kids would just pull them out and make a mess)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:
1. Heat the oil in a pan.
2. Add the onions and sauté until tender, about 5-7 minutes.  Meanwhile, place garlic, cumin, chili powder & tomatoes in food processor then puree to desired consistency.
3.  Pour pureed mixture in with the sautéed onions and mix over medium-low heat.
4.  Add pumpkin and black beans to food processor and puree to desired consistency add to the warming pan, & add the sherry and broth.
6.  Bring just to boiling then reduce heat and simmer for 30 minutes.
7. Serve garnished with cilantro and toasted pumpkin seeds if desired.
With the five of us (one being a small portioned five year old) we each had a big bowl with enough left over for two more large portions.  If you plan on serving company or have a larger family (or teens in the house) you may want to double this.

Leave a Reply

