Best Cranberry Sauce to Date

I’ve made the same cranberry sauce for several years, always going to family’s homes for Thanksgiving dinner and I really liked it.  This year, having Thanksgiving at our house with just the five of us, I wanted something a little bit different so I pulled a few things from different recipes until it sounded right and came up with this.  It was amazing.  Definitely sweeter than a traditional sauce, but I’ll be honest, I like it sweet.  The orange peel added a huge element of tang to it and the sauce has, in one night of gorging become my new go to recipe for cranberry sauce!  Unfortunately I didn’t get a picture of this sauce – but plan to get one next time I make it.


Ingredients:

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup water
  • 4 cups (1 12-oz package) fresh or frozen cranberries
  • zest of one orange
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground allspice
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves

Directions:


1. Wash and pick over cranberries. Add all ingredients except cranberries to a saucepan and bring to a boil, stirring to dissolve sugar. Add cranberries, return to a boil. Reduce heat, simmer for 10 minutes or until cranberries burst.
2.  Remove from heat. Cool completely at room temperature and then chill in refrigerator. Cranberry sauce will thicken as it cools.

Leave a Reply

