Sausage Calzones

Sausage Calzones

I’m not sure where I found this recipe originally, but we sure enjoy it!

Recipe yields 4 calzones. The hubby and I usually split one and then freeze the rest to reheat later.

1 1/3 lb. italian sausage
2 cups ricotta cheese
handful parsley
2 cloves of garlic, chopped
handful parmesan cheese
1/4 tsp. nutmeg
1/4 tsp. black pepper
2 Tbsp. chopped pimento
2 tubes of prepared refrigerated pizza dough (I usually use two bags of Trader Joes whole wheat dough…you could also make your own)
2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese
tomato, marinara or pizza sauce for dipping

Preheat oven to 425.

Brown sausage. Combine sausage with ricotta, parsley, garlic, parmesan cheese, pepper, nutmeg, and pimento. Roll pizza dough out on nonstick cookie sheets in 4 equal pieces. Spread 1/2 cup of mozzarella cheese and 1/4 of the sausage mixture on each rectangle. (Work only on one half of rectangle of dough!). Fold other half of dough over filling, pink edges firmly to seal. If your dough tears, remove a bit of filling and repair.

Bake 12-15 minutes or until golden brown. (My hint: spread foil on your cookie sheet before baking…makes for easy clean-up for the cheesy mess that oozes out during baking!) Serve with tomato sauce for dipping. YUM!

To freeze: Wrap calzones in foil before baking. Thaw completely and follow baking instructions above. OR Freeze completely bake…warm in the oven until warm through.

One thought on “Sausage Calzones

  1. Made these tonight and they were a toss up with the kids. My oldest loved them while my younger two weren’t sure…big surprise there 😉The Man approved, which is always a good sign and I think I would have liked them more if I didn’t have to prepare the sausage…it was icky (I couldn’t find ground sausage so I had to take the casings off the links). But they smelled delicious in the oven and I think next time I make them I’ll spread melted butter over the dough before cooking to add a little salt to the flavor on the outside.

    Like

Leave a Reply

