Creamy Potato Soup

Creamy Potato Soup

Having been at least a season since making this recipe, and ready to cook dinner, I pulled this recipe up the other night.  Imagine my disappointment when I realized it was a crock-pot recipe and would have had to have started it hours before to be ready in time to eat.  Then I remembered I don’t always have to follow the recipe.  I know. Crazy town, right?  So I modified the recipe slightly to accommodate my lack of planning.  Along with the modification I realized I didn’t have bacon.  Nice.  BUT!  I did have an unopened pack of real bacon bits (like the kind you use on baked potatoes or a salad) so I ripped that open and they worked great!

In a large stock pot, I heated 2 Tablespoons olive oil, added the chopped onions and cooked till soft (chop the potatoes during this time).  Add the ingredients in step two from below (plus the bacon bits) and bring to a boil, reduce heat, cover and simmer for about an hour.  Then proceed with step three and you have a meal!


Ingredients

  • 10 slices bacon, cut into 1/2 inch pieces
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 32 oz. chicken or vegetable broth
  • 2 cups water
  • 4 large potatoes, diced bite size
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon dried dill weed
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • 2 green onions for garnish (optional)



Directions
1.  Place bacon and onion in a large, deep skillet. Cook over medium-high heat until bacon is evenly brown and onions are soft. Drain off excess grease.
2.  Transfer the bacon and onion to a slow cooker, and stir in chicken broth, water, potatoes, salt, dill weed, and white pepper. Cover, and cook on Low 6 to 7 hours, stirring occasionally.
3.  In a small bowl, whisk together the flour and half-and-half. Stir into the soup. Cover, and cook another 30 minutes before serving.

Leave a Reply

