Reuben Sandwiches

Reuben Sandwich © 2008

Reuben sandwiches are made with corned beef and sauerkraut.  I know many of you are gagging or turning up your noses at the thought of sauerkraut.  But you have to give it a chance.  Below I’ve written down how to prepare it so that it’s not so vinegary!  Just go ahead and try it already!

I bought my corned beef “fresh” in the meat department.  It came with it’s own seasoning packet so all I had to do was put the meat in the crockpot, sprinkle the bag of seasoning then cover with water.  Cook for 8 hours on low.

SO.  GOOD.

Ingredients:

Rye Bread – I bought Pepperidge Farms Pump & Rye Swirl bread.  It’s WAY less crazy tasting than straight rye.

Thousand Island dressing

corned beef

sauerkraut – I buy Hebrew National in the refrigerated section.  The canned, in my opinion, is inedible.

Swiss Cheese, sliced

Butter – I prefer real, but use margarine if you must

Directions:

Spread 2 slices of rye bread with butter.  Lie one slice, butter side down, onto griddle or fry pan.  Top with a thin layer of Thousand Island dressing.  Layer the cheese, the (fully cooked & sliced to desired thickness) corned beef & a heaping spoon full of prepared* sauerkraut.  Top with the second slice of bread, butter side up.

Reuben Sandwich © 2008

Cook on medium low until cooked to a golden brown.  They key to a good “grilled” sandwich is to keep it low enough to allow the insides to get warm and melty before the outside browns too much.

*To prepare the sauerkraut:  Drain the kraut in a strainer and rinse a few times.  Melt about 4 tbsp. butter and a bunch (6 or so) of chopped green onions.  Sauté for a few minutes and add the kraut. Let it fry up for about 7-8 minutes and turn it with a spatula and fry it up for about 5-7 minutes. This takes a lot of the strong vinegary, salty taste and is sooo good!

2 thoughts on “Reuben Sandwiches

  1. Um, I’m drooling! That looks WONDERFUL! I love both corned beef and saurkraut (wow, I’m sure I spelled that wrong!) I do, unfortunately, detest Thousand Island. What would you reccomend I use in it’s place?

    Like

  2. Try a variation of Thousand Island: Russian Dressing!Combine the following ingredients. Makes one-half cup1/3 cup mayonnaise1 1/2 Tbsp ketchup1 1/2 teaspoons prepared horseradish1/2 teaspoon Worcestershire sauceSalt, to tasteFreshly ground black pepper, to taste(I haven’t tried the recipe so you’ll have to give it a whirl and post it if it’s decent!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

