Texas Roadhouse Rolls

I love Texas Roadhouse! They have such yummy rolls. I have searched and searched I finally found a recipe that is as close as you can get to the real thing!

From the trainer for all the bakers of the Texas Roadhouse chain (so they say)

1/2 sol. oz. cake of yeast or 1 pkg. active dry yeast (next time I think I will use 1 1/2 packets)
1/2 cup warm water
2 cups milk- scalded and cooled to lukewarm
3 tablespoons of melted butter – cooled
1/2 cup sugar
2 quart all purpose flour —
2 whole eggs
2 tsp. salt

Soften yeast in warm water with a teaspoon of sugar.

Add yeast, milk, sugar and enough flour to make a medium batter. Beat thoroughly. Let stand until light and foamy.

Add melted butter, eggs and salt. Beat well. Add enough flour to form soft dough. Sprinkle small amount of flour on counter and let dough rest.

Meanwhile, clean and dry bowl; grease clean surface of bow. Knead dough until smooth and satiny. Put in greased bowl; turn over to grease top. Cover; let rise in warm place until double in bulk.

Punch down. Turn out on floured board. Divide into portions for shaping; let rest 10 minutes.

Shape dough into desired forms. Place on greased baking sheets. Let rise until doubled.

Bake at 350 degrees F for 10-15 minutes (until golden brown). Baste immediately with butter

Yield: 5 to 6 dozen (depending on the size – I made mine kind of big and got about 3 dozen)

7 thoughts on “Texas Roadhouse Rolls

  1. I used to work at Texas Roadhouse. There is one thing that this recipe, like all the rest I have researched, is missing . . . Lemon Juice! I know it sounds crazy, but I used to watch the baker prepare the rolls, and he definitely used fresh squeezed lemon juice.

    Like

  2. Thanks for this recipe, but I've made some changes that I feel make it very close to the 'real deal'.

    First, I converted this huge recipe from volume measurements to weight and baker's percentages for ease of scaling and accuracy.

    Second, I added an equal amount of honey to the sugar, and vital wheat gluten w/ vitamin c.

    They're very, very close. I think they might need a tiny bit more salt, but they're still delicious. With a little butter and cinnamon, I can't tell the difference. Try them as written and decide for yourself!

    For two pounds of dough, yielding eighteen 50 gram(big!) rolls:

    Ingredient:Weight:Percent:Volume (if applicable)

    For a 2lb batch yielding eighteen 50 gram rolls:
    AP Flour……….- 455 g – 100%
    Milk…………….- 211 g – 46.42%
    Water………….- 53.0g – 11.65%
    Sugar…………..- 44.5g – 9.79%
    Honey………….- 44.5g – 9.79%
    Eggs……………- 44.5g – 9.79% – 1 large egg.
    Butter, melted.- 20.0g – 4.40%
    Gluten………..- 12.0g – 2.64% – 4 tsp.
    Salt……………- 9.1 g – 2% – 1.5 tsp.

    Follow directions as posted, adding honey when with the sugar and the vital wheat gluten after you finish beating at the 'medium batter' stage (I beat mine for ~8 minutes).

    I hope this helps somebody.

    Like

  3. The commenter above DID help me! So funny that you posted that comment on the very day I was going to test this recipe! Thank you! I followed the measurements exactly, down to the gram (thank goodness for my digital scale). The rolls kind of took a long time to rise, maybe forty minutes. I am going to make a double batch of these for Thanksgiving a couple days ahead and freeze them at the dough stage, after they've risen for 30 minutes. As they thaw they'll finish rising. And I might add a little bit of lemon juice, as the other commenter suggested. Couldn't hurt! (As to whether or not they taste exactly like the Texas Roadhouse rolls, I don't know, but they are really, really good!)

    Like

  4. Anonymous (2010) Thank you for the detailed conversions, looks like someone has already had success using your tips!

    Maegan, so glad you could use the tips provided! 🙂

    Like

  5. I tried these tonight following the advice of the guy recommending adding vital wheat gluten and honey.

    I cut the recipe in *half*, so I used 4 Tbs vital wheat gluten, matched the sugar content with honey.

    What I noticed:

    The rise time was *really* slow. I think its worth doubling the yeast (I have not tried this yet). I've made other breads using about 4 cups of flour that used a whole package of yeast, this only used 1/2 a pack, so I wasn't able to do much of a second rise. I did notice that the rolls did rise more while baking, so that made me happy! I let my dough rise for about 2 hours on the first rise, so the yeast flavor was reduced/gone – the double rise is more of a texture thing from what I understand.

    Taste wise, I have to say, they are very close to Texas Roadhouse rolls.

    I keep on wondering how the possible lemon ingredient would be incorporated. My current suspicion is that its mixed in with the salted butter baste you put on at the very end.

    Also note: I ended up baking mine for whole 30 minutes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

